Smart-U SU-01 Flying Phoenix

Update:

After having it for a few days, and having just received my N12, I can add a few things. The vibration I experienced can most likely be attributed to a bad throw on my part. While it’s a problem I no longer experienced on my Duncan Imperial, Butterflies are quite different beasts.

The yoyo does have a problem, however. The problem being its bearing, or the bearing socket; the former being mostly likely after having tried to put it on my N12.

The problem may only be a defect; a poorly molded bearing/socket that causes the bearing to embed itself into the one socket in particular, making it so hard to remove, I most likely morphed the bearing doing so. It spins only a fraction of the time of my newly acquired stock-8-ball bearing that comes with the n12.

Had I not opened it, it may have been fine, but taking apart a yoyo seems inevitable, and this problem should be considered before making a purchase.

I am not really apt to review a yoyo, so for now, here are some pictures and observations. P1140421 If I was to be fancy, I’d say the shape looks like a double Wing design over an organic-to-H shape. The yoyo has some vibe in it, but it can be fixed by walking the dog. Stupidly, I didn’t try it before taking it apart for photographs, and I had to forcefully take the bearing out, so I may be responsible for its current performance. P1140434 P1140433 P1140430 P1140423 The two halves have similar weights, so for a cheap yoyo, I’m either very lucky or quality control is decent. The String I’ve received is also not amazing, and was frayed in two places out of the box.

One thought on “Smart-U SU-01 Flying Phoenix

  1. Pingback: Spin to the First Mail Day: Gearing Up in Canada | LNocto

Leave a Reply

